APRA AMCOS Professional Development Award Winners Announced

APRA AMCOS have announced the recipients of the biennial PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT AWARDS (PDAs), which offers cash and recognition to songwriters and composers across a variety of genres in the early stages of their careers.

Timothy Carroll of Holy Holy (Popular Contemporary)
Ngaiire (Popular Contemporary)
Jack Carty (Popular Contemporary) 
Ruby Boots (Country) 
Briggs (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander)
Peter McNamara (Classical) 
Aaron Kenny (Film and Television)
Jeremy Rose (Jazz)

Each winner receives career-boosting prizes worth over $15,000, which includes a microphone and headphone package courtesy of Audio Technica. The Film & Television recipient will also receive a scholarship to the ASCAP Film and Television workshop in LA.

Songwriter Marcus Corowa has been named the inaugural recipient of the newly created Indigenous Music and Media Award from the Smugglers of Light, a foundation set up in memory of Eli Westlake aged 21, who was tragically killed in Sydney on 7th June 2008. Marcus Corowa will receive a grant of $12,000, along with a publisher introduction & industry mentoring session courtesy of Sony ATV Music Publishing Australia, and a songwriting mentorship & co-writing opportunity courtesy of Lior.

“We are delighted to be partnering with APRA AMCOS to deliver the inaugural Smugglers of Light Indigenous Music & Media Award. Selected from a strong field of practitioners from all over Australia, Marcus Corowa is an emerging singer / songwriter who is a highly focused and gifted individual. We are thrilled to be able to offer this unique opportunity to someone so deserving, and are privileged to be able to play a small part in supporting the development of a unique and talented voice amongst Australia’s rich tapestry of musical talent.” said Nigel Westlake, founder of the Smugglers of Light.