2015 APRA Professional Development Awards: Now Open


APRA AMCOS has today announced the return of the Professional Development Awards (PDAs) for 2015The PDAs have helped further the musical success stories of Gotye, Abbe May, screen composer Caitlin Yeo, Husky Gawenda, Georgi Kay, country songwriter and performer Morgan Evans.

Held every two years, the APRA Professional Development Awards aim to create serious opportunities for emerging songwriters and composers. Entrants music will be heard and judged by some of the industries best including Lior, Andrea Keller, James Blundell, Mark Moffatt, Josh Pyke, Jenny Morris, Kav Temperley, Jon Hume, Rai Thistlethwayte and international judges Gary Go and Erik Lewander.

This year each winner will also receive more than $15,000 worth of career support including a microphone and headphone package courtesy of Audio Technica.  The winner of the Film and Television category will also win a scholarship to the ASCAP Film and Television workshop in LA.

Applications for the 2015 APRA Professional Development Awards are now open to songwriters and composers who would like to enter in the following categories:

  • Popular Contemporary (three awards are given in this category including Pop, Rock, Blues, Folk, Hip Hop, Dance and R&B)
  • Country
  • Jazz
  • Classical
  • Film and Television
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander (ATSI)

This year The Smugglers of Light initiative will also form part of the PDAs, providing a promising Australian Indigenous music or media practitioner a grant of $12,000.

Applications for the APRA Professional Development Awards close on Tuesday 25th August 2015.

For more information on how to apply, Terms and Conditions, categories, prize packs and Partner Organisations, visit apraamcos.com.au/pda